Friday, March 26, 2010

Lewis Carroll's Alice

With Tim Burton's film "Alice in Wonderland" setting records at the box office, it got us to thinking about how much we love the classic books by Lewis Carroll.

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland was published in 1865, followed by the sequel Through the Looking-Glass and What Alice Found There in 1871.

Alice's adventures begin on a lazy summer day when she follows a white rabbit "down the rabbit hole" and finds herself in Wonderland.  The characters she encounters there are among the most enduring in literature including the Mad Hatter, the Cheshire Cat, the Queen of Hearts and the White Rabbit.

Carroll's books are pure fantasy, rich with a dream-like narrative, remarkable poetry and one of the most clever heroines in modern literature. An unforgettable read for adults and children.

"In a Wonderland they lie,
Dreaming as the days go by,
Dreaming as the summers die.

Ever drifting down the stream-
Lingering in the golden gleam-
Life, what is it but a dream?"

(excerpted from Through the Looking-Glass)

Click HERE to learn more about Lewis Carroll and his work.

1 comment:

  1. Love this!
    We should go see the movie!